Search

Skip to content
icon

Public Engagement

Public Engagement Document


Chapter 1 - Why Can’t We Ignore Climate Change?

What’s The Big Deal If Our Climate Is Changing?

1.1 Many scientists have warned that climate change would lead to irreversible consequences to the world. Recently, students around the world were out on strikes to protest and demand actions on climate change. Nevertheless, some skeptics choose to disregard the projected impacts of climate change as scaremongering; some consider receding glaciers and habitat loss for polar bears of little relevance. They have been indifferent to climate change impacts, not to mention changing lifestyles to cope with it. In fact, the impacts of climate change are hitting increasingly close to home. From erratic weather patterns to the rising frequency of extreme events, all of us should be able to experience that climate change is already affecting every part of our lives, no one is spared.

1.2 Our lifestyles and consumption habits cause the rising temperatures globally. Therefore, all human beings need to bear the responsibilities for mitigating the impacts of climate change. According to the recent Special Report on Global Warming of 1.5°C of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), it is evident that human-induced warming has already reached about 1°C above pre-industrial levels, and the warming rate is now about 0.2°C per decade. 1 Temperatures greater than the global average has also already been experienced in many regions and seasons. Also, according to the Global Risks Report 2018 published by the World Economic Forum, extreme weather events such as storm surges, droughts and natural disasters have been identified as the top risks that pose a serious threat to global stability. 2

1.3 Globally, annual emissions of carbon dioxide (CO2) have risen dramatically over the past decades. With more CO2 accumulated in the atmosphere, the atmosphere traps more thermal energy on the Earth. The more carbon we pump into the atmosphere, the higher the average temperature of the planet will be, and we expect to see more frequent extreme weather events causing sustained and serious impacts on health, the economy and the environment.

Global Temperature Change Chart
Source: NASA3





Carbon Emissions

Carbon emissions are sometimes used as a shorthand for referring to the emissions of CO2, or greenhouse gases (GHGs) in general. Strictly speaking, gases that absorb and trap heat on the planet are called GHGs. The main GHGs in the Earth’s atmosphere are CO2, methane (CH4), nitrous oxide (N2O) and ozone (O3).

CO2 is the most common GHGs emitted by human activities, in terms of the quantity released and the overall impact on global warming. They are mainly produced from the activities that involve the burning of fossil fuels (e.g. coal and natural gas), including electricity generation, travelling by car, ship and plane, etc. To facilitate the measurement and comparison, the emissions of different GHGs are converted to CO2-equivalent (CO2e)* based on GHG’s global warming potential.

Note: *CO2-equivalent (CO2e): A metric measure used to compare the emissions from various GHGs based upon their global warming potential (GWP). The CO2e for a gas is derived by multiplying the tonnes of the gas by the associated GWP.

We Simply Don’t Have Time

1.4 Scientists have warned that we have some 10 years left to limit climate change catastrophe. According to the special report published by the IPCC in October 2018, the projected climate change impacts are substantially worse at 2°C compared with 1.5°C. Meanwhile, it is necessary to acknowledge that achieving the 2°C target of the Paris Agreement is indeed challenging. The key issue will be on the discussion of how to meet the target through the more aggressive proposals and its feasibility. 4

1.5 Like other coastal cities, Hong Kong faces multiple climate-related threats, including rising temperatures and more extreme weather phenonmena such as violent storms and flooding rains. Unless the world takes bolder and swift actions to reduce GHG emissions, these intensifying impacts are expected to take place at an even more rapid pace in the coming decades. Hong Kong, as a responsible member of the global community, is taking proactive steps to combat climate change.


Projections for 2100
Global Average Temperature Rise
1.5°CVS2°C
Extreme Heat
Global population exposed to severe heat at least once every 5 years
increase 14%
increase 37%
Sea Level Rise
Contribution to sea level rise by 2100
increase 0.4 Metre
increase 0.46 Metre
Plant Species Loss
Plants that lose at least half of their range
decrease 8%
decrease 16%
Crop Yields
Reduction in maize harvests in tropical areas
decrease 3%
decrease 7%
Fisheries
Decline in marine fisheries
decrease 1.5 Million Tonnes
decrease 3 Million Tonnes
Coral Reefs
Further decline in coral reefs
decrease 70-90%
decrease 99%
Source: IPCC


Hong Kong Is Not Immune To Climate Change

More very hot days and hot nights

Over the past hundred years, the annual number of very hot days and hot nights in Hong Kong has increased from 2.2 to 15.7 and from 0.6 to 21.8 respectively. Under the high GHG concentration scenario, it is expected that the number of hot nights will add up to nearly 3 months by the middle of this century, and increase to about 5 months by the end of this century. 5

Annual number of heavy rain days increases

Days with hourly rainfall more than 30 mm increased at an average rate of 0.2 days per decade from 1947 to 2018 in Hong Kong. Under the high GHG concentration scenario, the projected annual maximum 3-day rainfall will increase by about 40% at the end of this century. 6

Fewer rain days but average rainfall intensity increases

Extreme precipitation events have become more frequent. The hourly rainfall record at the Hong Kong Observatory headquarters was broken several times in the past decades. The current hourly rainfall record was 145.5 mm in 2018 at the Hong Kong Observatory headquarters.7

Rise in sea level

On average, the mean sea level in Victoria Harbour went up 31 mm per decade during 1954-2018. It is expected that extreme sea level events that are rare today will become more frequent at the end of this century. 8

Increase in storm surge threat

Only between 2017 and 2018, there were two super typhoons necessitating the issuance of the Hurricane Signal No. 10, both with significant storm surges. 9



If you still remember……. this is not a movie scene!

Storm surge induced by Super Typhoon Hato in 2017 and Super Typhoon Mangkhut in 2018 caused flooding across various districts
Storm surge induced by Super Typhoon Hato in 2017 and Super Typhoon Mangkhut in 2018 caused flooding across various districts

Mitigating Climate Change For Survival and Well-beings Of Our Current and Future Generations

What Can We Benefit From Climate Change Mitigation?
Better health and less premature deaths
  • Researchers found that dramatic cuts in global GHG emissions could help prevent 300,000 to 700,000 premature deaths annually by the year 2030.10
  • A study published on Hong Kong Medical Journal in 2018 indicated that as the global warming worsened, the number of city dwellers suffering from allergic diseases has risen by three to five fold in recent decades. 11
Creating employment opportunities and green growth
  • A recent report by Stern and other authors highlighted the opportunities arising from ambitious climate mitigation actions in five key economic systems—energy, cities, food and land use, water, and industry—that can drive growth and meet the development objectives. It also reported that transitioning to the low-carbon, sustainable growth path could deliver a direct economic gain (US $26 trillion) by 2030 compared with business-as-usual, generate over 65 million new low-carbon jobs in 2030. 12
Business prospects
  • For individual business, one of the major benefits of reducing GHG emissions is to save costs through more efficient use of resources, particularly energy, that cut utility bills. Besides, companies taking ambitious climate actions could enhance their reputation amongst stakeholders and thus foster business development. For the business sector, mitigating climate change could create new business opportunities in new and emerging markets such as in the clean energy sector. It may also reduce risks and costs of damage to assets as a result of extreme weather events.
Costs Of Inaction Are Terrifying
Damage to infrastructure; economic loss
  • The Super Typhoons Hato and Mangkhut slammed Hong Kong in 2017 and 2018 respectively and caused massive damage, including flooding in many coastal and low-lying areas, huge amount of fallen trees, suspension of the public transport, and interruptions of the water and power supply. Under climate change, the number of super typhoons are also expected to increase. 13
Unstable water supply
  • A study conducted jointly by researchers at CUHK and the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation in Australia suggested that the continued growth in GHG emissions throughout this century could bring about more frequent and intensive floods and droughts in the Pearl River Basin in the last three decades of this century. 14
Instability of crop production; rising food prices
  • Researchers from the Earth System Science Programme at CUHK predicted that the rise in temperature would reduce global food production by more than 10% and increase undernourishment rates by more than 30%.15

Global Response To Climate Change

Climate Actions: The Three Main Concepts
Adaptation

To prevent or minimise the damage already or may be potentially caused by climate change by strengthening our ‘infrastructure’; including energy, water resources, buildings, coastal facilities, transport, emergency services, health, food, finance, and communication.

Mitigation

To reduce or prevent GHG emissions for alleviating effects of climate change such as heat waves and droughts, extreme storms, pressure on water resources and crop yields, damage to corals, sea level rise etc.

Resilience

To maintain functionality of the society under the inevitable effects of climate change; cope with and dampen climate-related stresses; and maintain public services, economic and social activities.

Climate Actions: The Three Main Concepts

Absolute Carbon Emissions VS Carbon Intensity

Carbon intensity is the volume of emissions per unit of GDP. Reducing carbon intensity means that less carbon emissions are being produced per unit of economic output. In the past, if GDP grows so do the total emissions. But taking advantages of the reduction in technology cost, enhanced awareness about climate change, etc., there are signs of marked decoupling of emissions and economic growth.

A more concrete measure of carbon emissions reduction is “absolute reduction”, meaning the reduction in the total emissions. To mitigate climate change, total emissions must be decreased in the long run.

Carbon Emissions Per Capita

Meanwhile, looking at the total carbon emissions alone does not tell the full story of a city’s contribution to global warming.

A more useful measurement is carbon emissions per capita (person). Under this measurement, we can compare the CO2 per capita of different places around the world.



The Paris Agreement

1.6 Succeeding the Kyoto Protocol, the Paris Agreement* is an ambitious multilateral treaty agreed in December 2015 by 196 signatories with a view to combating climate change and taking actions towards a low-carbon, resilient and sustainable future. China formally signed it on Earth Day, 22 April 2016.


Every 5 years, all signatories must formulate their own “nationally determined contributions” (NDCs) with targets and timelines to be set

Limiting the increase in the global average temperature to well below 2°C above pre-industrial levels and pursuing efforts to limit the temperature increase to within 1.5°C above pre-industrial levels

Note: *International shipping and aviation are not included in the Paris Agreement. International Maritime Organization and the International Civil Aviation Organization are responsible for carbon reduction of their respective sectors.


1.7 To limit the increase in the global average temperature to well below 2°C above pre-industrial levels, the world will need to reduce absolute carbon emissions between 40% to 70% by 2050 compared with 2010 and to achieve net zero emissions of CO2 and other GHGs before 2100. The recent Special Report on Global Warming of 1.5°C of the IPCC has provided scientific evidence that limiting warming to 1.5°C could further reduce climate risks compared with limiting it to 2°C. Yet, it is already an audacious plan to limit global warming to 2°C. To go further beyond to 1.5°C will require global carbon emissions reaching net zero around 2050.


Our Response to The Paris Agreement

1.8 The Paris Agreement came into force on 4 November 2016. As decided by the Central People’s Government, the Paris Agreement applies to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. We are obliged by 2020 to formulate a long-term decarbonisation strategy up to 2050. We are also obliged to review our climate change efforts every 5 years. As of now, we are on track to achieving the carbon intensity target of 65% to 70% by 2030 using 2005 as the base.


China’s NDC by 2030

  • To achieve the peaking of carbon dioxide emissions around 2030 and making best efforts to peak early
  • To lower carbon dioxide emissions per unit of GDP by 60% to 65% from the 2005 level
  • To increase the share of nonfossil fuels in primary energy consumption to around 20%
  • To increase the forest stock volume by around 4.5 billion cubic meters on the 2005 level
Hong Kong’s Carbon Emissions Reduction Measures by 2030

    • ‘Peak Carbon’ – local electricity generation is by far the biggest contributor to carbon emissions making up about 67%. Hong Kong’s emissions will peak in or before 2020 when we have more electricity generation from natural gas in our fuel mix.
    • Carbon Intensity and Absolute Reduction – our current decarbonisation path will help reduce the carbon intensity by around 50% by 2020. Our 2030 target would take us to 65% to 70% carbon intensity reduction from the 2005 level.16
    • Per capita carbon emissions – our per capita calculation is derived from dividing the total carbon emissions with the population, which works out to be around 5.7 tonnes in 2016. Our target is to reduce Hong Kong’s per capita carbon emissions to less than 4.5 tonnes by 2020; and further to about 3.3-3.8 tonnes by 2030.

The Public Engagement Process

1.9 Through this public engagement (PE) process, the Council for Sustainable Development hopes to arouse public awareness of the impact of carbon emissions, and gauge the views of the community in formulating Hong Kong’s long-term decarbonisation strategy, charting practical pathways and developing feasible actions to achieve that target, thereby contributing to the global decarbonisation efforts.

1.10 Given the long-term low greenhouse gas emission development strategies envisaged under the Paris Agreement only covers mitigation, this PE exercise will focus on gauging public views on mitigation actions* relating to reducing carbon emissions that suit the geographical, social and economic contexts of Hong Kong.


Objectives of the Public Engagement
Enhance Public Awareness

To raise awareness of the impact of carbon emissions and the serious consequences of inadequate actions to reduce carbon emissions.

Consensus Building and Recommendations

To seek public views on mitigation actions relating to reduction of carbon emissions bearing in mind the additional cost and behavioural changes required; and to promote community actions including changes in lifestyle and consumption behaviour to mitigate climate change.

Stakeholders Participation and Cooperation

To identify the roles of different stakeholders and foster collaboration opportunities among them and gauge their views on mitigation actions against climate change.


Note: *We have not included adaptation and resilience measures in the PE exercise because the timetable to complete the exercise is tight, and many of the measures are relatively technical and involve operational details. Besides, an interdepartmental Climate Change Working Group on Infrastructure has been formed to review the design standards and examine necessary measures for strengthening our infrastructure. The Contingency Plan on Natural Disasters is also being reviewed by Security Bureau.


Executive Summary Chapter 2
Scroll to Top

搜尋

跳到內容
icon

公眾參與過程

公眾參與文件


第一章 - 為甚麼我們不能忽視氣候變化?

氣候變化與我何干?

1.1 不少科學家警告,氣候變化對世界帶來無法挽回的後果。近來,世界各地都有因氣候變化而發起罷課遊行。可是,一些人認為氣候變化是一個唬人的騙局,或僅是冰川消退而令北極熊棲息範圍縮減的小事,對其帶來的影響仍漠不關心,更遑論改變生活習慣以應對氣候變化。事實上,氣候變化已經迫在眉睫。從近年反覆多變的天氣狀況、天災發生的頻率等各種跡象,相信我們都可以感受到氣候變化正影響每個人生活上各個環節,無一倖免。

1.2. 全球變得愈來愈熱,與我們衣食住行及消費習慣密不可分。因此,人類需要為此負上最大責任。根據政府間氣候變化專門委員會(Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, IPCC)最近發表的《全球升溫1.5℃特別報告》,人類活動所引致的暖化問題,已使全球平均溫度較工業化前高出約1℃,並且以每十年約0.2℃的速度上升。1許多區域和不同季節的暖化程度,更高於全球平均溫度的升幅。此外,世界經濟論壇發布的《2018年全球風險報告》指出,極端天氣事件(例如沿海風暴潮、乾旱和自然災害),已被列為威脅全球穩定的首要風險。2

1.3 過去幾十年來,全球每年的二氧化碳排放量迅速飆升。隨着大氣中累積的二氧化碳愈多,大氣會把更多熱能儲存在地球。換言之,我們在大氣中的碳排放愈多,地球平均溫度就會愈高;我們預計極端天氣事件將會愈趨頻繁,並對人類健康、經濟和環境造成持續而嚴重的影響。

來源:美國太空總署3





碳排放

碳排放泛指溫室氣體的排放,其中以二氧化碳為主。嚴格來說,溫室氣體是指大氣中吸收和保留熱力在地球的氣體,主要包括二氧化碳、甲烷、氧化亞氮和臭氧

以釋放量和對全球暖化的總體影響而言,二氧化碳是人類活動中最經常排放的溫室氣體,主要來自涉及燃燒煤及天然氣等化石燃料的活動,包括發電、乘搭汽車、輪船和飛機等。各溫室氣體的排放量會根據該氣體的全球升溫潛能換算為二氧化碳當量*,以方便計算和比較。

註:*二氧化碳當量:根據溫室氣體各自的全球升溫潛能,計算及比較不同溫室氣體排放量的單位。各氣體的二氧化碳當量,由該氣體的排放量乘以相對的全球升溫潛能計算出來。

迫在眉睫

1.4 科學家警告,我們只剩約十餘年的時間阻止氣候變化造成災難。根據政府間氣候變化專門委員會,於2018年10月發表的特別報告,預計全球升溫2℃,對比升溫1.5℃所帶來的影響將更為嚴重。同時,亦須理解達致《巴黎協定》2℃目標已甚具挑戰。關鍵是討論如何達標乃至更進取方案及其可行性,以達目標。4

1.5 香港與其他沿岸城市一樣,現正面臨多種與氣候變化相關的威脅,包括氣溫上升和更多暴風雨等的極端天氣現象。除非全球採取更大膽、更迅速的行動來減少溫室氣體排放,否則這些影響將會持續加劇,並在未來幾十年以更快的速度發生。香港作為國際社會中負責任的一員,現正積極採取行動,應對氣候變化。


2100年推算
全球平均升溫
1.5°C對比2°C
極端高溫
全球人口至少每5年面對一次極端高溫
上升 14%
上升 37%
水平面上升
到2100年海平面上升的幅度
上升 0.4 米
上升 0.46 米
植物物種消失
地理分布範圍縮小至少一半的植物
下降 8%
下降 16%
農作物產量
熱帶地區的粟米收成減少
下降 3%
下降 7%
漁業資源
海洋漁穫減少
下降 150萬公噸
下降 300萬公噸
珊瑚礁
珊瑚礁進一步減少
下降 70-90%
下降 99%
來源:政府間氣候變化專門委員會


香港不能獨善其身

更多酷熱天氣日數和熱夜數目

在過去百多年,香港每年的酷熱天氣日數由2.2天增至15.7天,而熱夜數目由0.6天增至21.8天。預計在高溫室氣體濃度情景下,熱夜日數到本世紀中接近三個月,世紀末更增至約五個月。5

每年大雨的天數增加

自1947年到2018年,香港每年的大雨天數(一小時降雨量大於30毫米的日子)平均每十年增加0.2天。預計在高溫室氣體濃度情景下,本世紀末每年最高連續三日雨量將上升約四成。6

下雨的日子減少但平均降雨強度增加

極端降雨事件變得愈來愈頻繁。天文台總部錄到的每小時雨量近幾十年屢破紀錄。現時香港天文台總部每小時降雨量最高的紀錄為2008年的145.5毫米。7

海平面上升

維多利亞港的海平面於1954至2018年間,平均每十年上升31毫米。預計現時罕見的高水位事件可能在本世紀末變得更頻繁。8

風暴潮的威脅增加

僅在2017至2018年間已出現兩次須發出10號颶風信號的超強颱風,兩者均引發嚴重的風暴潮。9



如果你還記得...... 這不是電影場景!
2017年超強颱風天鴿和2018年超強颱風山竹都引發風暴潮,導致多區水浸
2017年超強颱風天鴿和2018年超強颱風山竹 都引發風暴潮,導致多區水浸

減緩氣候變化是為我們這一代及未來世代的生存和福祉

減緩氣候變化有何益處?
改善公眾健康和避免過早死亡
  • 有研究人員發現,若然能大量減少全球溫室氣體的排放,到2030年每年可防止30萬至70萬人過早死亡。10
  • 2018年,一項於香港醫學雜誌上發表的研究指出,隨着全球暖化持續惡化,過去數十年間全球城市地區的過敏疾病已增加3至5倍。11
創造就業機會和綠色發展增長
  • 斯特恩等人(Stern, et al.)近年發表的研究強調,積極的減緩氣候變化行動為五個關鍵經濟體系(即能源、城市、食品和土地利用、水資源和工業)帶來多項機遇,包括可推動經濟增長和實現發展目標。報告亦指出,如果由現時的營運模式逐步轉型至低碳可持續發展方向,到了2030年,估計可獲得直接的經濟收益(達26萬億美元),並在2030年產生超過6,500萬個新增低碳工作職位12
商業前景
  • 對於個別企業而言,通過善用資源(尤其是能源)的方法以減少溫室氣體排放,將可節省電費支出。此外,積極採取氣候行動可以提高企業在持份者間和社會上的聲譽,從而促進業務發展。對於商界而言,減緩氣候變化有助企業於潔淨能源等新興市場創造新的商機,還可以減少因極端天氣事件而造成的資產風險和損失
袖手旁觀的嚴重後果
基礎設施受損;經濟損失
  • 2017年超強颱風天鴿和2018年超強颱風山竹先後衝擊香港,造成大規模破壞,包括沿海和低窪地區出現水浸、大量塌樹、交通癱瘓,以及部分地方水電供應中斷,預料氣候變化下超強颱風亦會增多。13
供水不穏定
  • 由香港中文大學和澳洲聯邦科學與工業研究組織的研究人員聯合進行的一項研究指出,如本世紀的溫室氣體排放量持續增加,很可能會在本世紀的最後30年,為珠江流域帶來更頻繁和嚴重的洪水和乾旱災害14
農作物生產不穩定;食品價格上漲
  • 香港中文大學地球系統科學課程的研究人員預測,氣溫上升將導致全球糧食減產超過10%,並且令營養不良比率提高30%以上15

全球應對氣候變化

氣候行動:三個主要概念
適應

加強基礎設施以防止或盡量減低因氣候變化而造成或可能造成的損失。「基礎設施」包括能源、水資源、建築物、沿岸設施、交通、緊急服務、公眾健康、糧食、金融與通訊設備。

減緩

減低或防止溫室氣體排放以減輕氣候變化的影響,如熱浪和旱災、極端風暴、水資源短缺和農作物減產的壓力、珊瑚破壞及海平面上升等。

應變

在不可避免的氣候變化影響下維持社會功能;應付和抑制氣候變化相關的壓力及維持公共服務、經濟和社會活動。

氣候行動:三個主要概念

絕對碳排放量對比碳強度

碳強度是指每單位本地生產總值的碳排放量。減少碳強度意味着每單位經濟產出所產生的碳排放較少。過往,如果本地生產總值增長,碳排放總量也會有所增加。但是,隨着技術成本降低,以及社會對氣候變化的意識提高等,有跡象顯示碳排放與經濟增長可脫鉤。

使用「絕對排放量」作為目標能更具體量度碳排放總量的減幅。為減緩氣候變化,長遠來看,碳排放總量必須下降。

人均碳排放

同時,單看碳排放總量並不能完全展示個別城市對全球暖化的影響。

人均碳排放量是可取的計算方式。根據此計算方式,可比較世界各地的人均二氧化碳排放量。



《巴黎協定》

1.6 承接《京都議定書》,《巴黎協定》*於2015年12月獲得通過,是一份由196個締約方簽署,目標進取的多邊協議,旨在應對氣候變化和共同推進低碳、具抗禦力及可持續的未來。中國在2016年4月22日地球日正式簽署《巴黎協定》。


所有締約方須每五年一次自行編制「國家自主貢獻」,制訂目標及時間表

把全球平均溫度升幅控制在工業化前水平以上低於2℃之內,並努力將溫度升幅限制在工業化前水平以上1.5℃之內

註:*《巴黎協定》並不包括國際航運和航空業,其有關減碳工作分別由國際海事組織和國際民用航空組織負責。


1.7 為了把全球平均溫度升幅控制在工業化前水平以上低於2℃之內,全球須於2050年前將絕對碳排放量由2010年水平減少40%至70%,並在2100年前將二氧化碳及其他溫室氣體的排放淨值降至零。政府間氣候變化專門委員會最近發布的《全球升溫1.5℃特別報告》提供了科學數據,說明控制全球升溫在1.5℃比2℃可以進一步降低氣候風險。然而,將全球升溫限制在2℃已是艱鉅任務。若要進一步限制在1.5℃,全球必須在2050年左右 達到淨零碳排放。


回應《巴黎協定》

1.8 《巴黎協定》於2016年11月4日正式生效。按中央人民政府決定,《巴黎協定》適用於香港特別行政區。香港須於2020年或以前制定至2050年的長遠減碳策略,亦須每五年檢討我們的氣候變化工作。現時,我們正朝着在2030年把碳強度由2005年的水平降低65%至70%的目標穩步邁進。


中國至2030年的國家自主貢獻

  • 二氧化碳排放2030年左右達到峰值並爭取盡早達峰
  • 單位國內生產總值二氧化碳排放比2005年下降60%-65%
  • 非化石能源佔一次能源消費比重達到20%左右
  • 森林蓄積量比2005年增加45億立方米左右
香港至2030年的減碳措施

    • 「碳排放峰值」- 本地發電是目前最大的碳排放源,佔總排放量大約67%。隨着天然氣佔本地發電燃料組合的比例繼續上升,本港的排放量將於2020年或之前達到峰值水平
    • 碳強度和絕對減幅 - 我們現時的低碳路徑,將有助在2020年把碳強度由2005年水平降低約50%。而我們2030年的減碳目標將把本港的碳強度由2005年水平降低65%至70%。16
    • 人均碳排放量-碳排放量可以按人均計算,即把碳排放總量除以人口,按此計算,本港2016年的人均碳排放量約為5.7公噸。我們的2020年目標可把本港的人均碳排放量減至少於4.5公噸;及在2030年進一步減少至約 3.3至3.8公噸

公眾參與過程

1.9 可持續發展委員會期望透過公眾參與過程,促使公眾意識到碳排放帶來的影響,同時收集社會各界的意見,訂出香港的長遠減碳策略,以及達至目標的可行方向及行動,為全球減碳作出貢獻。

1.10 由於《巴黎協定》所要求的長期溫室氣體低排放發展策略只包括減緩方面*,是次公眾參與將會集中邀請公眾集中就減少碳排放方面的減緩行動提供意見,同時考慮本港在地理環境、社會及經濟各方面的需要。


公眾參與目的
提升公眾意識

提高公眾對碳排放影響的認識,以及減碳行動不足的嚴重後果。

建立共識及提出建議

就減少碳排放方面的行動尋求公眾意見,同時要考慮所需的額外成本和行為改變,並致力推動社區參與行動,包括改變生活方式及消費行為以減緩氣候變化。

推動持份者的參與及合作

確立不同持份者的角色及建立各方之間的協作機會,並收集他們對減緩氣候變化行動的看法。


註:*由於我們需要在有限的時間內完成公眾參與過程,而且不少措施相對較技術性並涉及運作細節,因此我們沒有把氣候適應和應變措施納入公眾參與過程。另外,跨部門氣候變化基建工作小組已經成立,負責劃一設計標準和加強工務部門的基建抗禦能力,而保安局現正檢視《天災應變計劃》。


摘要 第二章
返回頁頂