Chapter 5. Green lifestyle tips

It may be more difficult to phase out certain single-use plastic items due to operational reasons. Moreover,there may not be readily available alternatives for all single-use plastic products. In such cases, when prevention is not feasible, it is important to practise reuse as far as possible, to recycle the single-use plastics item, and to ensure the item is disposed of properly.

Reuse Recycle

A. Reuse

Reuse is to use an item again or in a different way. Reuse helps reduce energy and cost for harvesting new raw materials, and quantity of waste disposed of at landfills and generation of greenhouse gases. For example, we can reuse a plastic bottle for refilling personal care and household cleansing products, etc. We may also use alternatives that can be reused to replace single-use plastic products, such as cotton bag / woven bag, thermal mug, reusable umbrella bag, etc. However, simply replacing single-use plastics by other alternatives may not necessarily achieve a “greener result”; it is essential to change our lifestyle as well.

Do you know lifecycle assessment on plastic bags reveals that8

At least 50 times

A cotton bag needs to be used 50 – 150 times in order to create less adverse impact on the environment than a single-use plastic bag

At least 11 times

Non-woven bag needs to be used at least 11 times in order to create less adverse impact on the environment than single-use plastic bag

8 https://wedocs.unep.org/bitstream/handle/20.500.11822/31932/SUPB.pdf?sequence=1&isAllowed=y


B. Recycle

If we could not reuse a single-use plastic product, the next step is to recycle it. Recycling plastic reduces and may even eliminate the need to extract raw materials, thus reducing the consumption of fossil fuels needed to produce plastics. In order to facilitate and encourage the community to conduct waste reduction and recycling, the Environmental Protection Department (EPD) has established a new community recycling network, known as the [email protected], which includes Recycling Stations, Recycling Stores and Recycling Spots covering the whole territory. The new community recycling network also conducts promotions to solicit support from the public to go green and instill a green living culture in the community. It accepts at least eight common types of recyclables, including plastics, glass bottles, regulated electrical equipment, small electrical appliances, fluorescent lamps and tubes, rechargeable batteries, paper and metals. The recyclables collected will be sorted and then delivered to downstream recyclers for subsequent processing.

Members of the public can earn GREEN$ (greeny coins) when they bring recyclables to any of the 130+ outlets of [email protected] to redeem gifts, including daily necessities and groceries and products such as bamboo tissue paper.

Recycling Stations

There are 11 Recycling Stations in operation across the territory. Apart from providing services on the collection of recyclables, the Recycling Stations promote resource conservation through education and connect with housing estates and property management companies in the local communities.

Recycling Stores

There are 22 Recycling Stores conveniently located across the territory (ten more will commence operation in late 2021/early 2022) offering members of the public a brand new experience in recycling. Recycling can be done in a clean and tidy way, thereby encouraging members of the public to practise green living.

Recycling Spots

Over 100 Recycling Spots have been set up, particularly at locations near single-block and"three-nil" residential buildings where recycling and waste separation facilities are limited. These Recycling Spots provide regular recycling service at fixed locations on a weekly schedule, with a view to supplementing the coverage of Recycling Stations and Recycling Stores.

For locations of "GREEN @COMMUNITY" facilities, please refer to the website below: https://www.wastereduction.gov.hk/sites/default/files/CRN_Locations.pdf


C. Proper disposal

Garbage accumulated on beaches are often flushed into the sea during heavy rain, where marine creatures may be suffocated by mistakenly swallowing plastic waste. We should act now to protect our environment through proper waste disposal!


D. Green shopping habit

The market of single-use plastics is heavily consumer-driven. It is essential to build “green consumer shopping habit” with a view to revolutionising the market. Green consumer shopping habit may include:

  • Bring your own bag / bottle/ box
  • Buy products with minimal packaging
  • Reuse packaging materials as far as possible, such as plastic bag, plastic box, etc.
  • Practice clean recycling

Emergence of green products

With increasing global awareness on environmental protection, there are emerging “green products” in the market, for example, plastic products that claim to contain recycled content, and products with compostable, biodegradable (e.g. polylactic acid (PLA), polyhydroxyalkanoates (PHA), polybutylene succinate (PBS)) or oxo-degradable labels.

In fact, whether the “degradable” plastics can fully decompose depends of a wide range of factors, which includes the type of additives added in the degradable plastics, the thickness of material, and more importantly whether there are favourable disposal conditions for degradation, etc.

The presence of oxygen, moisture, UV light and high temperature are some of the common examples of favourable conditions that can speed up the time needed for decomposition. However, we may not have these conditions in Hong Kong’s landfills or marine environment. In an environment lacking both sunlight and oxygen (e.g., landfills), anaerobic thermal degradation is unlikely to proceed naturally due to the high temperatures required.

From recycling angle, most degradable plastics cannot be recycled alongside traditional plastics, largely due to their differences in chemical composition. If degradable plastics are mixed in a batch of traditional plastic recyclables, it is likely that the quality of the whole batch would be adversely affected.

Knowledge sharing: Definitions

Biodegradable plastics can be converted into water, carbon dioxide and bio-mass over time with the help of micro-organisms. This conversion is called biodegradation.

Compostable plastics : are a subset of biodegradable plastics, defined by the standard conditions and timeframe under which they will biodegrade.

Oxo-degradable plastics : It is produced by adding degradable additives to conventional plastics, which can accelerate the process of fragmentation when the plastics are exposed to UV radiation or heat. However, tiny plastic fragments will still remain after degradation.

Big Waster

9 https://pubs.acs.org/doi/pdf/10.1021/acssuschemeng.9b06635

International studies have found that oxo-degradable plastic cannot truly biodegrade10 in the natural environment. It fragments into microplastic flakes under favourable conditions (e.g. UV radiation or heat), which makes it easier to contaminate the natural environment and even the food chain. Different places adopt different approaches in relation to “degradable plastics”.

Places
Approach
Mainland China
  • Phase out various single-use plastic products by 2020 – 2025 but exclude “degradable” products like plastic bags, straws and packaging
  • Update the definition, classification, labelling and degradation requirements of “degradable plastic”
European Union (EU)
  • Required Member States to ban oxo-degradable plastic products by July 2021
  • Plan to develop a policy framework in 2022 on the use of biodegradable or compostable plastics, based on an assessment of applications where such use can be beneficial to the environment, and the criteria for such applications
Canada
  • Plan to ban or restrict certain harmful single-use plastics as early as 2021 (e.g. food packaging and service ware made from oxo-degradable plastic)
New Zealand
  • Phase out problem plastics and some single-use plastics in three stages, starting by late 202211, i.e.:

    1. Hard-to-recycle food and drink packaging made from PVC and polystyrene and some degradable plastic products (e.g. oxo-degradable)
    2. Single-use plastic products, including drink stirrers, cotton buds, produce bags, cutlery, plates, bowls, straws and labels
Australia
  • Plan to ban products containing oxo-degradable plastic by 1 January 2023
Big Waster

Oxo-degradable plastic ?

There is a trend to ban oxo-degradable plastic products in other places, as relevant plastic products cannot fully degrade, and may contribute to microplastic pollution. Hong Kong should follow and explore the possibility on this front.

10 https://www.oneplanetnetwork.org/sites/default/files/unep_ci_2020_can_i_recycle_this.pdf

11 https://environment.govt.nz/what-government-is-doing/areas-of-work/waste/plastic-phase-out/

Question (4): 
Do you agree that, if more information on the recyclability and percentage of recycled content of a single-use plastic product is provided by the manufacturer, it would be helpful for consumers to make an informed purchase decision?
Question (5): 
Do you agree there is a need to develop a platform for sharing information on plastic alternatives among different stakeholders (including businesses, material suppliers and consumers)?
Think green before each purchase

Consumers’ calls are often the most effective way to drive market changes. In the battle against plastics, are you willing to “think green” before each purchase?

Question (6): 

When there are different brands available for the same type of merchandise. Which of the following green considerations would affect your choice?

  • Whether the product can be re-used (e.g. reusable metal cutlery vs single-use plastic cutlery for parties, reusable umbrella bags vs disposable umbrella bags)
  • Whether “green material” is used (e.g. products and packaging with recycled content)
  • The brand’s “corporate environmental responsibility” (e.g. the brand offers “take-back” service for the collection and subsequent recycling of their products)
  • Whether the product is not over-packaged
Question (7): 

One of the reasons that plastics are so commonly used is their comparatively cheap price. Replacing plastics by non-plastic / reusable alternatives may drive up the costs of the products. To reduce the use of single-use plastics, are you willing to pay more? If yes, assuming that a single-use plastic item costs $10, how much are you willing to pay for the same product made from non-plastic / reusable alternatives?

  • less than $0.5 (i.e. less than 5% of product price)
  • $0.5 – 1 (i.e. 5 – 10% of product price)
  • $1.1 – 1.5 (i.e. 11 – 15% of product price)
  • more than $1.5 (i.e. more than 15% of product price)

Story box: The “dual use bag” policy of Taipei City - going green in each purchase / waste disposal

Taipei City has implemented “Per Bag Trash Collection Fee Programme” since 2000. To further reduce the use of plastic bags, the “dual use bag” policy was introduced in 2018, mandating that certain retailers (e.g. convenience stores and supermarkets) can only sell small (3L), medium (6L) and large (14L) dual use bags, produced by the authority or manufactured by the retailers pursuant to the specifications stipulated by the authority, to customers that can be used as both shopping bags as well as designated garbage bags12. The city has successfully reduced the use of about 20 million plastic bags each year since the implementation of dual use bag policy.13.

In Hong Kong, the Waste Disposal (Charging for Municipal Solid Waste) (Amendment) Bill 2018 was passed by LegCo in August 2021, and the Government is actively engaged in the preparatory work. The implementation of municipal solid waste (MSW) charging aims to drive behavioral changes to achieve waste reduction. Under the new charging regime, members of the public will be required to use designated garbage bags for waste disposal. To tackle the waste plastic shopping bag problem in the long run, is Taipei City’s “dual use bag” policy a useful experience for Hong Kong after the implementation of MSW charging?

slogan

第五章 綠色生活小智慧

由於營運原因,要淘汰某些即棄塑膠製品可能較困難。 此外,並非所有即棄塑膠製品都已有現成的替代品。 當我們無法避免使用即棄塑膠製品時,則應盡可能重用和回收,並確保這些產品能被妥善處理。

重用回收

甲. 重用

重用是指重覆使用,或用不同方式再次使用。實踐重用可減少能源消耗和降低提煉原材料的成本,並減少棄置廢物於堆填區和產生溫室氣體。例如,我們可以重用塑膠容器並注入個人護理和家居清潔用品等。我們也可以使用即棄塑膠的替代品,如棉質袋 / 不織布袋、保溫杯、可重用的雨傘袋等。然而,單靠使用即棄塑膠的替代品不一定更環保,我們也需切實改變生活模式。

塑膠袋的生命週期評估顯示8

至少50次

與即棄塑膠袋相比,棉質袋需要使用 50 至 150 次才能對環境產生較少的不良影響

至少11次

與即棄塑膠袋相比,不織布袋至少需要使用 11 次才能對環境產生較少的不良影響

8 https://wedocs.unep.org/bitstream/handle/20.500.11822/31932/SUPB.pdf?sequence=1&isAllowed=y


乙. 回收

若我們不能重用即棄塑膠製品,下一步便應妥善回收。進行塑膠回收能減少,甚至有機會不需要提取原材料,從而減少生產塑膠所消耗的化石燃料。為促進和鼓勵社區實行減廢回收,環境保護署(環保署)已構建了一個新的社區回收網絡,名為「綠在區區」,當中包括回收環保站、回收便利點和回收流動點,服務覆蓋全港各區。社區回收網絡亦致力推廣並鼓勵更多市民支持環保,並將綠色生活文化注入社區。「綠在區區」接收至少八種常見的回收物,包括塑膠、玻璃樽、四電一腦、小型電器、慳電膽 / 光管、充電池,以及廢紙和金屬。收集到的回收物會被分揀,然後運送到合適的下游回收商進行後續處理。

市民將回收物送交 130 多個「綠在區區」的回收點,即可賺取「綠綠賞」(積分)並兌換禮品,其中包括日常用品、糧油乾貨以及竹漿廁紙等產品。

回收環保站

全港有 11 個回收環保站投入服務。回收環保站除了提供回收物的收集服務外,還會通過教育活動推廣節約資源,並與區內屋苑和物業管理公司建立聯繫。

回收便利點

全港共有 22 個回收便利點,均設置於方便的位置(另有 10個 將 於 2021 年 底 / 2022 年初投入服務),為市民提供全新的回收體驗。透過確保回收過程整潔妥當,吸引和鼓勵市民積極參與回收,實踐綠色生活。

回收流動點

設置了 100 多個回收流動點,特別是在缺乏回收和廢物分類設施的單幢式和「三無」住宅樓宇附近。這些回收點以每週定時定點形式提供定期回收服務,以擴大回收環保站和回收便利點的覆蓋範圍。

有關「綠在區區」的設施位置,請參閱以下網站:https://www.wastereduction.gov.hk/sites/default/files/CRN_Locations.pdf


丙. 妥善處置廢物

積聚在海灘上的垃圾通常在大雨期間會隨雨水沖入海中,而海洋生物有可能因誤吞塑膠垃圾而導致窒息。我們應立即採取行動,適當處置廢物來保護我們的環境!


丁. 綠色購物習慣

即棄塑膠的市場很大程度上是由消費者所帶動。 我們必須建立「綠色消費者購物習慣」,以徹底改變市場需求。 綠色消費者購物習慣包括:

  • 自備袋 / 容器 / 盒子
  • 購買簡約包裝的產品
  • 盡可能重用包裝物料,如膠袋、膠盒等。
  • 實踐乾淨回收

新興綠色產品

隨著全球環保意識的提高,市場上出現了新興的「綠色產品」,例如聲稱含有再生塑膠成分的塑膠產品,以及具有可堆肥、可生物降解性的產品(例如聚乳酸 (PLA)、聚羥基鏈烷酸酯 (PHA)、 聚丁二酸丁二醇酯 (PBS)) 或氧化式可分解塑膠的標籤。

事實上,「可降解」塑膠能否完全降解取決於多項因素,其中包括可降解塑膠中的添加劑類型、物料厚度,更重要的是棄置環境中是否存在有利降解的條件等?

氧氣、水分、紫外線和高溫是加快分解塑膠的常見有利條件。 然而,在香港的堆填區或海洋環境中可能缺乏相關有利條件。在缺乏陽光和氧氣的環境中(例如堆填區),需要高溫產生化學反應的無氧熱降解並無法自然進行。9

從回收的角度來看,大多數可降解塑膠不能與傳統塑膠一起回收,主因是它們的化學成分不同。 若將可降解塑膠混入一批傳統塑膠可回收材料中,很可能會影響整批塑膠的質量。

知識分享:定義

在微生物的幫助下,「生物降解塑膠」可轉化為水、二氧化碳和生物質,這種轉化被稱為生物降解。

「可堆肥塑膠」: 是生物降解塑膠的其中一種,需符合生物降解的特定標準條件和時間框架。

「氧化式可分解塑膠」: 是由傳統塑膠加入可降解添加劑後所組成,使塑膠暴露於紫外線/ 熱力下可加速碎裂,但分解後仍會殘留細小膠碎片。

大嘥鬼

9 https://pubs.acs.org/doi/pdf/10.1021/acssuschemeng.9b06635

國際研究發現,氧化式可分解塑膠在自然環境中是無法達致完全生物降解 10。此類塑膠在有利條件下(例如紫外線輻射或熱力)會分解成微塑膠薄片,因此更容易污染自然環境甚至食物鏈。 不同地方對各種「可降解塑膠」採取了不同的應對方法。

地點
方法
中國內地
  • 2020 年至 2025 年逐步淘汰各種即棄塑膠製品,但不包括可降解產品,如膠袋、飲管和產品包裝等
  • 更新「可降解塑膠」的定義、分類、標籤和降解要求
歐洲聯盟 (歐盟)
  • 要求成員國在 2021 年 7 月或之前禁用氧化式可分解的塑膠製品
  • 基於對環境有利以及其標準下作出應用評估,計劃在 2022 年制定關於使用可生物降解或可堆肥塑膠的政策框架
加拿大
  • 計劃最早在 2021 年禁用或限制某些有害的即棄塑膠(例如涉及氧化式可分解塑膠製成的食品包裝和餐具)
新西蘭

從 202211年末開始,分三個階段逐步淘汰具問題的塑膠和某些即棄塑膠,即:

  1. 由聚氯乙烯和聚苯乙烯製成、難以回收的食品和飲品包裝,以及一些可降解的塑膠(例如氧化式可分解塑膠)
  2. 即棄塑膠產品,包括飲品攪拌棒、塑膠棉花棒、農產品袋、餐具、碟、碗、飲管和標籤
澳洲
  • 計劃在 2023 年 1 月 1 日或之前禁用含有氧化式可分解塑膠製品
大嘥鬼

氧化式可分解塑膠?

由於氧化式可分解塑膠製品不能完全降解,所以有可能導致微塑膠污染。其他地方已陸續禁用相關產品。香港也應該跟隨並探討這方面的可能性。

10 https://www.oneplanetnetwork.org/sites/default/files/unep_ci_2020_can_i_recycle_this.pdf

11 https://environment.govt.nz/what-government-is-doing/areas-of-work/waste/plastic-phase-out/

問題 (4): 
你同意如果製造商能提供更多有關即棄塑膠產品的可回收程度和再生塑膠成分百分比的資訊,能有助消費者作選擇?
問題 (5): 
你同意有必要建立一個平台,以便不同持份者(包括企業、材料供應商和消費者)互相分享塑膠替代品的資訊嗎?
綠色消費

消費者的需求最能推動市場變化。 為了減少塑膠廢物,你願意奉行綠色消費,多考慮不同產品背後的環保因素嗎?

問題(6): 

當同一產品有不同品牌可供選擇時, 以下哪些環保因素會影響你的選擇?

  • 該產品可否重用(例如可重用的金屬餐具 對比 派對用即棄塑膠餐具,可重用的雨傘袋 對比 即棄雨傘袋)
  • 該產品是否含「環保物料」(例如含有再生塑膠成分的產品和包裝)
  • 該品牌的「企業環境責任」(例如品牌為其產品提供「回收」服務 以進行收集和後續的回收)
  • 該產品是否沒有過度包裝
問題(7): 

塑膠被廣泛使用的其中一個原因是價格便宜,使用非塑膠/ 可重用替代品可能會令產品價格上升。為了減少使用即棄塑膠,你願意多付錢嗎?如願意,假設一件即棄塑膠產品的價錢為$10,你會願意多付多少錢去購買非塑膠/ 可重用替代品?

  • 少於0.5元,即少於產品價錢的5%
  • 0.5 - 1元,即產品價錢的5-10%
  • 1.1 - 1.5元,即產品價錢的 11 - 15%
  • 多於 1.5元,即多於產品價錢的 15%

小故事:台北市「兩袋合一」政策— 每次採購 / 棄置廢物都是環保的

台北市自 2000 年開始實施「垃圾費隨袋徵收」計劃。為進一步減少使用膠袋,台北市於2018 年推出「兩袋合一」政策,規定某些零售商(如便利店和超級市場)只能出售小型(3 公升)、中型(6 公升)和大型(14 公斤)的兩用袋。該兩用袋由當局生產或由零售商按照當局規定的規格製造,既可用作購物袋又可用作指定垃圾袋12。 自實施「兩袋合一」政策以來,該市每年成功減少使用約 2000 萬個塑膠袋13

在香港,《2018 年廢物處置(都市固體廢物收費)(修訂)條例草案》已於2021 年8 月獲立法會通過,政府正致力推展準備工作。推行都市固體廢物收費旨在推動市民改變行為,從而達致減廢。 在新的收費機制下,市民須使用指定垃圾袋棄置廢物。長遠而言,在實施都市固體廢物收費後,香港是否能借鑒台北市的「兩袋合一」政策,以解決廢塑膠購物袋的問題?

slogan