Chapter 6. Summary

This public engagement exercise aims to provide every member of the community with information on the subject of plastics and explore relevant issues with a view to identifying ways to move away from non-essential and hard-to-recycle single-use plastic items.

Plastics are light, durable and inexpensive. They are commonly used in our daily lives. However, they can persist in the environment for hundreds of years which impacts our ecosystems, endangers animal lives and also threatens human health. Single-use plastics are particularly harmful to the environment because they are usually made from low-value and hard-to-recycle plastics, and are small in size, which make them difficult to be separated, sorted and cleaned for recycling. Single-use plastic items have already dominated almost every area of our lives and can be found in numerous products, which includes local product packaging, local retail packaging, local packaging for logistics and online shopping, festival and celebration products, toiletries distributed by hotels, shopping bag, health and protective equipment and other single-use plastic items such as umbrella bag, etc.

In Hong Kong, 11,057 tonnes per day (tpd) of overall municipal solid waste (MSW) were disposed of at landfills in 2019, in which about 21% of MSW, i.e. around 2,300 tpd, were plastics, which is equivalent to the weight of around 155 double decker buses.

To tackle the problem of single-use plastics, we should decide on which product to control as well as how to control. In most cases, single-use plastic is not the only choice we have. We can replace single-use plastic products with reusable products serving similar functions or find some acceptable alternatives made of more environmental-friendly materials. Apart from planning forward on which new types of single-use plastic items to be controlled, it is equally important to strengthen the existing regulatory measures in place such as the Plastic Shopping Bag Charging Scheme. However, it may be more difficult to phase out certain single-use plastic items due to operational reasons, and there may not be readily available alternatives for all single-use plastic products. In such cases, when prevention is not feasible, it is important to practise reuse as far as possible, to recycle the single-use plastics item, and to ensure the item is disposed of properly.

slogan

第六章 總結

這次公眾參與旨在為公眾提供有關塑膠的資訊,並探討相關問題,從而找尋途徑逐漸停止使用非必要和難以回收的即棄塑膠製品。

塑膠輕巧耐用,而且價格便宜,常用於日常生活。然而,塑膠可以在環境中持續存留數百年,並影響我們的生態系統、危害動物生命和威脅人類健康。即棄塑膠對環境尤為有害,因為它們通常是由低價值和難以回收的塑膠製成,而且一般體積較小,難以分類、分揀及清洗以作回收。即棄塑膠製品幾乎已充斥我們生活的各個部分,且產品種類繁多,包括本地產品包裝、本地零售包裝 、本地物流及網購包装、節慶產品、酒店派發的洗漱梳妝用品、購物袋、護理和防護設備和其他即棄塑膠製品,如雨傘袋等。

在香港,於2019 年被送往堆填區的都市固體廢物總量為每日11,057 公噸,其中塑膠佔約 21%, 即約每日2,300 公噸, 相當於約155 輛雙層巴士的重量。

為了更有效地應對即棄塑膠問題,我們應決定管制那些即棄塑膠製品及如何管制。在大部分情況下,即棄塑膠並不是我們唯一的選擇。我們可以選擇使用具類似功能的可重用產品,或使用一些由較環保的物料製成的可接受替代品。除了對新類別即棄塑膠製品的管制進行規劃,加強已在施行的措施,如塑膠購物袋收費計劃也同樣重要。由於營運原因,要逐步淘汰某些即棄塑膠製品可能較困難。 此外,並非所有即棄塑膠製品都有現成的替代品。當我們無法避免使用即棄塑膠製品時,並確保這些產品能被妥善棄置。

slogan