Search

Skip to content
icon

Give Views

Views Collection Form

The views collection period ended on 20 September 2019, with the collected views being reflected in a report to be compiled by an independent agency.

pencil


This is an anonymous form for the purpose of gauging public views about Hong Kong’s long-term decarbonisation strategy.

Preamble – Let’s revisit the following background information before completing this views collection form

  • To combat climate change, the Paris Agreement has set a carbon reduction target – holding the increase in the global average temperature to well below 2°C above pre-industrial levels and pursuing efforts to limit the temperature increase to 1.5°C above pre-industrial levels.
  • To meet this target, the whole society needs to step up efforts by implementing a host of measures, including adopting a low-carbon lifestyle, enhancing energy efficiency and using more zero carbon fuel sources for electricity generation, coupled with technological advancements, in order to further reduce carbon emissions. (See P.14; 17-21; 41-42 of the PE document)
  • This means the pattern of our daily lives and behaviour is required to adapt to the transition towards low-carbon lifestyles, including the adoption of “Use Less, Waste Less” practices, low-carbon diets, energy and water conservation, and low-carbon transportation for daily and holiday journeys. (See P.22-26; 30-31 and 44 of the PE document)
  • Currently, about 67% of Hong Kong’s carbon emissions come from electricity generation (See P.17 of the PE document). In this regard, further carbon reduction in electricity generation is one of the key factors in overall carbon reduction for Hong Kong. In the long run, to comply with the decarbonisation target, we must increase the proportion of zero carbon energy in our fuel mix through very close regional cooperation, meaning importation of more electricity including renewable and / or nuclear energy from the Mainland. The gradual replacement of old power plants running up to 2050 by the use of cleaner energy is timely to help progress the decarbonisation journey. Regardless of the fuel type and sources to be chosen, the cost of electricity supply would increase due to the replacement of the retiring plants and the higher costs of cleaner energy. However, as the cost impact would depend on a host of factors, it would be premature to make any meaningful assessment on the tariff impact for 2050. (See P.29 of the PE document)
  • It is noteworthy that, according to the Paris Agreement, while Hong Kong has set, and is on track to achieve, the 2030 carbon reduction target, to formulate and reach a 2050 target is rather challenging. To pursue a more aggressive target would be an even more formidable challenge, entailing more significant costs for society and more substantial changes to the lifestyles and behavioural patterns of the public.

Scroll to Top

搜尋

跳到內容
icon

提交意見

意見收集表格

pencil


本意見收集表以不記名的形式收集公眾對香港長遠減碳策略的意見。

前言 – 填寫本意見收集表前,讓我們先重溫以下背景資料:

  • 為了應對氣候變化,《巴黎協定》已訂出目標,把全球平均溫度升幅控制在工業化前水平以上低於2℃之內,並努力將溫度升幅限制在工業化前水平以上1.5℃之內。
  • 要達到這目標,社會各界都要加強行動,透過落實各項措施,包括實踐低碳生活模式、提升能源效益,以及採用更多零碳能源發電,同時配合科技發展,以進一步降低碳排放量。﹙參見文件第14; 17-21; 41-42頁﹚
  • 這意味着我們在日常生活和行為模式,要適應更低碳衣食住行等等的轉型,包括更惜物減廢、低碳飲食、節能節水、日常及假期低碳出行等。 ﹙參見文件第22-26; 30-3144頁﹚
  • 由於香港現時約67%的碳排放源自發電 ﹙參見文件第17頁﹚,因此發電界別進一步減碳是減少香港的整體碳排放其中一個關鍵因素。長遠來說,如要符合減碳目標,必須透過非常緊密的區域合作,方可增加燃料組合中零碳能源的比例。這意味着香港須從內地輸入更多包括可再生能源及/或核能的電力。在2050年前,我們需要逐步以更潔淨能源代替舊發電機組以達致減碳進程。無論我們選擇哪一種燃料及哪一個供電來源,供電成本有可能因取代退役機組及使用潔淨能源而相應上升。但實際的成本上升會取決於一系列因素,現時要對2050年電費的影響作任何有意義的評估是言之尚早 ﹙參見文件第29頁﹚
  • 值得注意的是,按照《巴黎協定》,香港已訂下並逐步落實2030年的減碳目標,而要訂定和落實2050年的目標,甚具挑戰。若追求的目標愈進取,挑戰將愈艱鉅,而社會須承擔的代價,以及市民在生活和行為模式上須作出的轉變亦會更大。

返回頁頂